Printer Friendly
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 16

Art Love

Australia
6226 Posts

Posted - 01/16/2010 :  04:05:11  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Work is proceeding on the rear axle. The diff has been completely rebuilt. See Albert's fine article for detail of this. Albert showed the weld on the bearing shell trick that allowed them to be removed both for the pinion and the fixed axle. It appears Albert hasn't got to replacing the fixed axle inner bearing if I am following his article correctly. He's done the pinion bearing and as I read it, he avoided the variable thickness spacer issue there and just used the one that came out. There is also a spacer in the diff housing where the fixed axle inner bearing sits to get the correct tension on the differential gear if I understood Justin correctly (I am a surgeon, not a mechanic). The spacer comes in sizes from 1.8 to 2.2mm thick to allow for this adjustment and from what Justin tried to explain to me, that involved putting the bearing in and out repeatedly using different spacers till it was correct. In order not to destroy multiple bearings with welding in order to achieve this, the diff man who helped Justin got an identical bearing and machined it down 30 thou so it would slip in and out. I hope Albert covers this when he gets to it. Anyway, the diff is back together and it is just a case of refitting the swing axle. Here are some pictures.

This is looking inside the diff and you can see that big nut with the large teeth. That also has to be adjusted to the correct tension which I gather is the force of two strong men. To achieve that, Justin had a tool made.

This engages the teeth on the nut. I've just pushed it loosely into the hole to give you an idea. You put a bar through the holes.